Dream Search Engine

I would like for someone to develop a dream search engine for travel.  I would like to enter the dates I would like to travel, where I would like to go (it would give me an opportunity to enter more than one destination), if I mind a layover somewhere and for how long (once again with many choices).  Than this search engine would search all the possible combinations from my choices. 

Why would I like it this way?  Well, because airline pricing is really weird.  When we were planning out trip to Istanbul, Turkey it was cheaper for us to spend 3 days in Barcelona than go to directly.  The thing is that I really don’t mind spending 3 days in Barcelona so that was a bonus for me.  The price difference was substantial.  The same thing happened coming back from Greece.  It was cheaper for us to spend 3 days in Munich.  Great, I got 2 for 1.  (Two countries in 1 trip).

I would like to know why it’s cheaper for me to have 3 flights than 1.  Why is it cheaper for me to go Chicago-Madrid, Madrid-Barcelona, Barcelona-Madrid, Madrid-Istanbul than just having the layover in Madrid?  It’s 2 extra flights.  Why is it cheaper for me to go to Venice through Madrid than to just go to Madrid?  It makes no sense.

But that’s how it is and there is nothing I can do about it.  Except, I can work it to my advantage.  I can plan my trips to include some good layovers rather than just try making a connection. 

Some airlines even recognize that.  For instance Turkish Air offers a great tour of Istanbul if you have a long layover in Ataturk Airport.  I was tempted to take advantage of that offer because it was cheaper to go to Ireland through Turkey. 

If you are dreaming of a trip, than be flexible.  By working unexpected layovers into your travel plan you might get a better deal, discover a new magical place and have more adventures.  The only problem is that for now, you’ll have to do some of the legwork yourself.

Leave a Reply

