Travel is a great escape

The last few weeks have been stressful, but I had a trip to Vegas planned and that was something to keep me excited. I was going to my 20th High School Reunion. I was going to spend some time with my mom and bringing my son. Just having that to look forward to was what I needed to keep my sanity.

I don’t know what it is about travel but if I have a trip to look forward to, I know everything will be all right. Why is it that problems don’t seem as bad if you are away from home? Is it the place or is it being able to see things from a different perspective? I just know that things don’t seem as bad when you get back.

Well my trip went well. Vegas is different for me. It’s home so I get to visit my mom and hang out with friends. I don’t go to shows or go to the strip. But I do enjoy shopping and eating. I did enjoy swimming with my son in the October sun. And I went to my high school reunion.

My high school reunion? Well, it had it was good and it was bad. It was great seeing some of my friends, it was okay seeing people that all I in common with was classes. It was bad because the turn out was rather small and some of the people I really would have liked to see weren’t there. One thing that really touched me was how sincere some people were. They were truly glad to see. It doesn’t mean we’ll become best friends but they will be part of my life.

Talking to the reunion people the turnout was actually good for my high school. I guess Facebook has made reunions not as important. I don’t know why. Even though I get hugs from friends on FB they don’t feel the same. I also don’t have to dress up which is something I enjoy. Finally I only get to talk to people who are my friends, I don’t have to go out on a limb and that is a loss. A virtual relationship is about as a good as a virtual trip. I thing it is a great precursor to the real thing but does not replace it.

One thing that was a big bonus was a big Adidas tent sale. All my kids are soccer players and fans. I was able to buy a lot of things at great prices. Was it what I was expecting from a trip to Vegas? No, but I sure did enjoy it. And isn’t that one of the wonders of traveling? You get to do things that aren’t planned and you never know what you will get.

While traveling doesn’t solve all your problems, it does allow you to step back, relax and re-evaluate your life. Now if I could just find a good deal to Hawaii life would be perfect.

Leave a Reply

