Shopping that Maximizes Mileage Plus Earning

Usually we are abroad for Thanksgiving so I don’t get to go shopping on Black Friday.  But this year I have a seminar at Disney a couple weeks later so we won’t be going anywhere.  Instead I am planning on ways to maximize earning Mileage Plus miles. Recently I have started using Mileage Plus X.  It is an app from United and you use it to pay with a gift card with the participating merchants.  I’ve earned over 6,000 miles in one month using this app.  I’ve found that if I use the participating merchants and the Mileage Plus shopping portal I can get so many  more miles.

In order to maximize your online shopping you have to start by using http://www.shopping.mileageplus.com  Be sure you are logged in and click to the store you want to shop from the portal.  Some times they run promotions and you get a lot of miles by shopping through the portal.  Most time you earn between 2 and 5 miles per $ spent.

The second step is to pay using the Mileage Plus X app.  You can combine the two and get a lot more miles this way.  In addition if you have a Mileage Plus Explorer card you automatically receive a 25% bonus whether or not you pay using the card.

I wish most the portal merchants used the Mileage Plus X but here is a list of which merchants you can shop through the portal and  pay using Mileage Plus X.

Store Name Mileage Plus Mall Mileage Plus X
Aerie.com 2 5
American Eagle Outfitters 2 5
Apple iTunes 1 2
Athleta 2 5
Babies R Us 1 3
Banana Republic 2 5
Barnes and Noble 2 4
Bass Pro Shops 4 5
Bed Bath and Beyond 2 4
Brookstone 4 5
Build a bear 2 5
Carter’s 1 2
Columbia 4 5
Crate & Barrel 1 2
Express 2 5
Famous Footwear 2 4
Foot Locker 2 5
Forever 21 2 4
Game Stop 2 4
Gander Mountain 2 5
Gap 4 5
Guess 2 4
Gymboree 2 2
Hot Topic 2 3
JC Penney 3 3
Joann 1 4
K Mart 2 3
Kohl’s 2 3
Land’s End 3 5
Lowe’s 2 1
Nike 5 5
Nordstrom Rack 1 2
Officedepot/OfficeMax 2 5
Old Navy 2 5
OshKosh B’Gosh 1 2
Overstock 2 5
Pottery barn 1 3
QVC 2 3
Sears 1 3
Sephora 4 5
Stein Mart 3 5
Sunglass Hut 3 4
Sur La Table 3 3
The Container Store 2 4
The Land of Nod 1 2
The Limited 1 5
Toys ’R’Us 1 3
Ulta 3 4
Williams Sonoma 2 3

I wish that the following would also allow me to pay using the Mileage Plus X app.  They are already in the portal.

  • Walmart because everyone shops there.
  • Bergners
  • Best Buy
  • Crabtree &Evelyn
  • Dick’s Sporting Goods
  • Dollar General
  • GNC
  • Michael Kors
  • Michaels
  • Pier 1
  • Walgreens
  • All the cell phone companies.  Imagine all the miles every month!!

Target needs to be on both and Amazon should be on the portal.

So this shopping season look through the list of participating merchants and see where you can shop to earn the most miles.  Start by researching the shopping portal and downloading the app.  For instance my son usually buys soccer cleats at soccer.com which doesn’t participate.  Last time he bought a $300 cleat.  If I had bought this at nike.com I would have earned 3000 plus a 25% bonus of 375 miles plus the $300 by using my card.

I think I will be using Kohl’s, JC Penney and Sears/KMart  more than in the past.  There are lots of choices for people with small kids and people who like outdoor activities.  I also love the Office Depot/Office Max combo.  One is on the portal and the other is on the app but you can use the gift card to pay at either.  So all my office purchases will be made using this method for a total of 7 miles per $ spent.

The part that I love about Mileage Plus X is that many restaurants participate.  Use a card that has restaurants as a bonus category and you will earn a lot of miles in multiple programs.

This is modifying the way I shop and I hope more merchants will see this as a way to attract more customers.  Happy shopping and earning miles.

Leave a Reply

