Has Disney lost its magic?

Before you start attacking me, know that I grew up going to Disney.  I have brought my children there many times.  However as I sit in my room at the Disney Yacht Club Resort I wonder why it is not magical anymore.

This was my first time staying at a Disney resort.  I have to say I am not impressed.  I stayed at this hotel because that was where my conference was being held but it is not acceptable as a business hotel.  I understand it will be refurbished next month but that does not excuse it faults.  We had a horrible room that should have been out of service and they don’t offer laptop safes.  The manager offered to give us a complimentary downgrade and we weren’t able to get a decent room until after 4 pm.  Then the next morning no hot water.  How did they handle this?  They gave me some macaroons. Not magical.  I was expecting excellent customer service.  But I bet Disney is also having a hard time hiring qualified staff.  Twice people at the front desk barely spoke any English.   Don’t get me wrong, I have always enjoyed meeting people from all over the world here.  But they always spoke impeccable English.

Second, the hotel doesn’t have nice of amenities.  I have stayed at much nicer hotels in the Orlando area.  They also offer bus service to the parks and they are cheaper.  They have nicer rooms, expansive pools, activities for the kids, a variety of restaurants.  I did like being able to walk to some of the other resorts and to Epcot but I still had to take a lengthy bus ride to the Magic Kingdom.

I have to admit that being here right before Christmas makes it special.  There are lovely decorations everywhere.  Cinderella’s castle is all light up.  There are some lovely holiday concerts.  But there are tons of people.

I have never seen so many people in scooters.  And they seem to be in a hurry so you have to watch out or you might get run over.  Plus it seems that whole extended families come together in matching shirts.  Really, why?  You should know who you are without a shirt that tells your relationship.

If you have children you don’t need to bring several strollers.  I saw 2 parents with 2 huge strollers.  How old should the children be forced to walk?  Or better yet you should fake that you need a wheelchair so that you can push two children on it.  What is wrong with people?  Disney is exhausting.  You shouldn’t bring children who are old enough to walk but can’t.  If your kid can’t walk enough then you  should take them on walks at home so they get used to it.  Or better yet, don’t try doing everything in one day.  And don’t bring great grandma.  Family time is precious but if she can’t walk, then she probably would enjoy spending time with you and your kids in a slower paced place like at a beach house or at a cabin by a lake.

I thought Fast Pass was meant to make it that you could enjoy more rides.  No!!! It means that you have guaranteed access to only 3 rides all day.  Don’t get  me wrong, it is cool to be able to walk to the front of the line.  But you get to stand in huge lines for the rest of your day.  Some lines were 2 hours long!!!  Plus it doesn’t help that some rides shut down quite frequently.  Really for as much as the tickets are, Disney should be investing on the rides and make sure they are not breaking down often.

Now let’s talk about food.  Disney food was always expensive but now it seems even more expensive.  I know some people go there for some of the fancier restaurants.  But if you just want to get something to eat you have to pay $8 for a hot dog.

I think it will be many years before I head back to Disney.  I hope the rides don’t have gigantic lines, I hope the people who are there are nice and don’t run you over and I hope I can afford it.  I think it is more magical if you don’t go there 5 times a year.

For the Disney lovers out there, just try making it magical for everyone.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

